The Santa Myth and the Mission of Christian Apologetics

My Dear Readers,

This post is not intended to offend or pass personal judgment on anyone. I offer this post with the sincere hope that it will give Christian parents cause to stop and think about this issue in a new light.

I read an excellent article on an associate’s blog the other day, and it resonated with me so strongly that I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it. It’s written by Dr. Lydia McGrew, who holds a PhD from Vanderbilt University. The thesis of the article is that teaching children to believe the “white lie” about Santa Claus may undermine the solidity of their faith in God later in life, particularly whenever they face an authority figure who argues against Christianity. Essentially, the cultural practice  of the Santa myth may harm the mission of Christian apologetics as it is practiced within the parenting context.

I encourage you to take a few minutes to read what Dr. McGrew has to say.

Why I Don’t Teach My Kids That Santa Claus is Real

I think the approach taken by Mark Driscoll  and his wife is a beautiful way to handle it, and it is exactly how my husband and I approach it:

What We Tell Our Kids About Santa

Biblically speaking, is there away to justify a lie told to our children for the fun of it? Does it honor God to tell a lie in an effort to enhance the fun of Christmas for young children? I believe the answer to both questions is an unequivocal “No.” I have many dear sweet friends who teach their kids the Santa Claus myth, and I have never condemned them for this. None of us is a perfect parent. But I hope the articles above will offer some encouragement to all of us to endeavor to be more Christ-like in how we raise our precious children. God’s way is always the best way, and dishonesty is never a part of it.

 

