Forgiven…but continually refined.

There are many (oh, so many!) things that I desire to thoughtfully explore and write about concerning Christianity and its members; hence, this blog. I thought long and hard about what topic to kick off with and finally decided that I should start with an introduction and explanation of sorts…

I’m Melissa, wife to Jonathan, and mother to Corban (7) and Cayden (3). I currently homeschool my boys while being a full-time student myself, in the Master of Arts in Christian Apologetics program at Biola University. I just finished my first year (out of three), and after graduation I hope to pursue a doctorate in Christian Apologetics.

Many questions about the intersection of the Christian faith and the sciences were what first drew me to the study of apologetics. My background includes a B.S. in general biology, followed by a five-year career in the field of biotechnology. Working in a science field with highly-educated men and women of diverse backgrounds and faiths (or utter lack thereof) fanned that spark of interest into a slow-burning flame that later exploded with my calling into apologetics ministry, which didn’t happen until several years after I became a stay-at-home mom.

I’m interested in much more than scientific apologetics; I am captivated with expanding my ability to give an accurate, effective defense of my faith concerning everything from the origin of the universe to the reliability of the Bible as a historical document and the historicity of the God-and-man Jesus of Nazareth. I am also passionate about teaching my brothers and sisters in Christ to understand and appreciate the importance of this discipline and the ramifications the fact of Christianity has for our lives HERE ON EARTH.

As I continue on my journey of learning, hearkening to the guidance of the Holy Spirit, I am eternally thankful for the ongoing refining process I am experiencing. As my knowledge and faith are deepened, so is my awareness of my own insufficiency. It is only by His grace that I am sharpened, thus my responsibility for bringing Him glory grows with that honing.

So, here I am. I dedicate this endeavor to my Lord Jesus Christ, asking humbly and prayerfully to be used in ways that will exalt His holy name. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Forgiven…but continually refined.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

